Nominations sought for Scottish Health Awards 2014

The search is on for Scotland’s top health workers as people from Lothian are being urged to nominate their local healthcare hero. Every year, the Scottish Health Awards recognise and reward dedicated NHS staff, support workers, volunteers and specialist teams whogo the extra mile to provide outstanding patient care.

Nominations are being sought from those who want to acknowledge the quality of treatment they have received, either for themselves ora loved one. Whether in hospital, in the community, in a GP surgery, or at the dentist, this is an opportunity to reward the people who give so much, helping the NHS provide world-class care to the people of Scotland.

Last year there were three finalists from Lothian with John Casey and his team at the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary taking home the Care for Long-term Illness Award.

There are 16 award categories:

* Doctors Award – both doctors and nurses in practices or hospitals across Scotland
* Nurses Award – nursing teams in general care, community care or specialist care
* Therapists Award – range of therapists from physiotherapy to dental hygiene
* Unsung Hero Award – getting on with their work but bringing much more to their job
* Support Workers Award – ranging from auxiliaries, cleaners, porters – there’s so many
* Volunteers Award – unpaid assistance that makes healthcare experience so much better
* Top Team Award – Scotland’s top NHS team can come from any service in the country
* Care for Mental Health Award – working with vulnerable members of our communities
* Care for Long-Term Illness Award – specialist care teams who are always on hand
* Services to Women and Children Award – individuals and teams who provide specialist early years services and care for children and their
* Healthier Lifestyle Award – individuals and teams who are motivating and supporting people to lead healthier lifestyles
* Health in the Workplace Award – recognising employers who have made a contribution to the health and wellbeing of their employees
* Integrated Care for Older People Award – celebrating health and social care staff who provide vital healthcare and personal support to
older people
* Innovation Award – rewarding new and innovative ways of improving the quality of healthcare
* Quality Champion of the Year – to honour those who have put quality improvement at the heart of what they do to transform patient care.
* Leading and Managing for Quality Award – is aimed at outstanding and resilient managers and leaders who strive for quality at everything
they do.

A specially selected panel of judges will select three finalists in every category. The awards will culminate in a prestigious award ceremony on the 6 November 2014 at the Corn Exchange in Edinburgh.

The Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing, Alex Neil, said: “As the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing, I often get to witness the outstanding work that goes into providing our health and social care services to the people of Scotland. And I continue to be truly humbled by the tireless commitment and compassion shown by the staff of our NHS in Scotland and in its partners in delivering these services.

“Every year the Scottish Health Awards provide us with an opportunity to recognise those who make an exceptional contribution to delivering quality health and social care services and to those who deliver consistent, reliable and responsive healthcare in the NHS in Scotland.

“It is only right that we shine a spotlight on some of the most exceptional people who go that extra mile to deliver the very best of care and to that end; I hope that patients, the public and staff will take the opportunity to nominate the people who deserve to be recognised for their work.

“The awards celebrate not only the contribution of frontline health and social care workers but also those who work so hard behind the scenes in support roles to ensure we have the kind of healthcare and care services that are the envy of many other countries.”

To nominate your healthcare hero visit The closing date for nominations is Monday 8 September.


This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *